top of page


THE WORKHORSE Radical Cup Australia bursts back into life this weekend at Queensland Raceway with a strong field set for Round 2 of the series.

A 17-strong fleet of Radical SR3 entries heads to the circuit near Ipswich as part of a strong program for Round 2 of the Shannons Trophy Series this year.

ENTRY LIST: Click here to view

It’s hard to identify the clear standout among the Queensland field given the depth of competition the series is experiencing this year, a host of contenders likely to challenge for victory at the six-turn circuit that traditionally produces ferociously close racing.

West Aussie Elliott Schutte will hope to pick up where he left off in Sydney, having claimed the round win in the series opener despite not winning a race.

Schutte holds a single point margin over perennial Radical contender Peter Paddon, who has returned to solo driving duties this year.

Paddon was a star performer in Queensland last year, edging out eventual champion Chris Perini by less than 0.6 seconds in a thrilling opening race at the equivalent round last year, before going on to finish second overall for the round.

Paddon claimed victory in the second race of the season in Sydney and as such heads back to Queensland in peak form as he looks to replicate his 2022 success.

The other winner in Sydney – teenager Alex Gardner – is back aboard his Volante Rosso Motorsport entry as he looks to build on his fairy-tale start to his circuit racing career this weekend.

Defending champion Chris Perini is back with the #1 aboard his Bing Technologies SR3, having claimed the round win at QR last year on his way to taking the overall title.

The Sydneysider sits third in the championship following the season opener.

The 17-strong field includes several two-driver combinations, including the powerful Arise Racing combination of Adam Lisle and Jordan Oon, who were standout performers and proven winners in the 2022 Radical Cup Australia season.

The duo scored pole in Queensland last year, edging out Arise Racing teammate Schutte for the top spot by just 0.1 seconds.

Josh Hunt will pair with Peter Clare on his home turf, while the sister Volante Rosso Motorsport entry will see Greg Kenny and Melinda Price sharing the #56 entry.

Experienced GT ace Bart Mawer will return alongside Terry Knowles aboard his #68 Aus Nets entry.

The Queensland field also includes Ash Samadi, Warwick Morris, Cooper Cutts – the leader in the Rookie standings - Bradley Russell, James Hernandez, Stephen Champion, Bill Medland, Simon Arthur and Zig Fuhrmeister.

The Workhorse Radical Cup Australia field hit the track for a pair of 20-minute practice sessions on Friday at Queensland Raceway as part of a packed Shannons Motorsport Australia Trophy Series round.

Following the two sessions – at 10:30 and 2:15pm respectively – the cars return for practice 3 on Saturday morning (10:05am) and Qualifying at 12:45pm.

The first of two 50-minute races then commences at 4:00pm local time, with the finale’ on Sunday at 11:15am.

The Sunday race will be broadcast live on 7plus, as well as Radical Cup Australia and Motorsport Australia social media channels on Sunday, 6 August.


bottom of page